I am looking at updating the heating and water heating systems in a rental home I recently purchased.  Currently, there is a 4 year old Burnham oil furnace with a coil for water heating.  I'm looking at adding a natural gas burner to the system, as gas lines are already in place.  With regard to water heating, I'm looking at indirect fired systems although I've received some recommendations for installing an electric tank.  Thoughts or advice?  As you can probably tell, I'm new to this!  Thanks.  

Tags: HVAC, heaters, heating, water

Views: 1043

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I have been using  Rheem or State or Brad/white PVC flued tank type hot water heater  abit more than 61% tank type  but less than 1/2 of a tankless.  can take -50 PA in the CAZ test and is cheap to flue and works well.  You have to plug it in but that not hard in a basement and still takes a 1/2" gas line un like most tankless take 3/4" or 1".    I get the PVC flued hot water heater to pass the CAZ test each time.  

What are the prices for gas and electricity?

Posted something earlier, but account was hacked. Natural gas tank heater, such as: http://www.kenmore.com/kenmore-elite-50-gal-12-year-natural-gas/p-0...

NG tank probably the way to go in most utility cost situations. Tankless may make sense - about 20% more efficient than standard tank heaters, but beware their usual shortcomings.

Could it be that you have a boiler with tankless coil? Boilers are for hydronic heating, furnaces are for forced air heating.

Is this a single family residence? Will you live in it or rent it out? Year round use?

How many bathrooms, fixtures, what flow rates, how many people in the home, etc.?

What are your goals? Best hot water comfort? Lowest operating cost? Lowest investment cost? Greenest? Any government and utility incentives in you area?