RESNET announced an alliance with Home Depot this week, and I've heard from a couple of our raters already. They're concerned that this will undercut their efforts to build a market for trained & certified home energy raters and BPI BAs to come in and give homeowners a good analysis of their homes and what they really need.

What do you think? Does it undercut the analysts in our industry? Does it put the emphasis more on products and less on process?

Tags: Analysts, BPI, Building, Depot, HERS, Home, RESNET, raters

Views: 310

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I have the same concerns. As a building science professional, I am delighted to see the growing interest in energy efficiency and retrofitting, but I have extreme concerns that unskilled contractors will be flooding the market through this marketing push and will result in more harm (indoor air quality, home durability, etc.) to homeowners than benefit (energy savings).
Great topic Allison. Yes, I am worried. I just don't know if I am jumping the gun or not? This is my thinking on the alliance.

What does it say about what we do and at what cost to the consumers and the raters if walk-thru, clipboard assessments are marketed and recommended? Do we sell products or do we sell knowledge of the process and system? I think it is the knowledge and the system. I am not making money on product, although I may need to change to survive. I don't trust big business to have my interest or our trade's interest in mind. They are for profit & have stockholders to please. PRODUCTS is what HD sells and that is what scares me!! "Process and System" is the change that we need to sell!!!