Hi, 

My name is Noah and I am new to both this site and energy auditing and retrofitting.This group seems great, and I was just wondering what's everyone's take on how they market themselves and to who particularly? Property Managers, Landlords, obviously home owners....

Thanks!

Noah 

Views: 815

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Hi Noah,
That's the 64 thousand dollar question, (but you're probably too young to remember that show :). The most successful businesses of almost any type were experts in marketing long before they became experts in their selected field. The markets for energy auditing will very from zero, where utilities et al are giving it away for free, to successful contractors who have integrated the process into the front end of their business. Independent energy auditors that perform audits ONLY are not doing well, at least from what I have been reading.

Now, that doesn't make this a bad business, but it is not an automatic Cinderellas story, as I thought it would be. Fortunately for me, I'm retired so this is fun, whether I make any money or not. But, when you factor in the required revenue stream, very few will be able to survive on auditing only.

I'm willing to share, although the details can be depressing, but perhaps it can help you choose a direction with a future.

What's your experience and training? And most importantly, your goals.

Bud

Bud I plan to make this a self sustaining profitable business.  I hear this trend more and more that you can not survive on auditing alone.  Is that because contractors like me, are willing to give audits for free to customers (after 150 utility rebate).  Also see me reply to john.