Are Zoned Heating/Cooling Systems a Good Idea or a Bad Idea?

For starters, I live in Atlanta, Ga and I am not an HVAC pro so this is a serious question that I would like answered for one of my clients.  I understand the premise of a zoned system and on the surface, it sounds like a good idea. Then I considered the fact that I have always told my customers that it is a bad idea to close off vents in rooms they are not in because of duct leakage.  Also, the second law of thermodynamics simply states the hot goes to cold, so now the unheated areas are doing their best to rob warm air from the heated areas.  Finally, if your zoning a single system, aren't you creating on oversizing issue because the unit (that was probably oversized in the first place) is now servicing a smaller are than what it was designed for?

I look forward to your input.

Views: 3905

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

If all zones from a single HP system are on the same floor level or above grade walls, it would probably be OK in Atlanta. However, conditioned basements are best left on a separate system that can handle lots of moisture. Attic rooms with insulated roof decks may be better served with a minisplit.
This is a 3700sf 2 story on a slab.

I live in the Dallas/Ft Worth area and am not an HVAC pro myself but I have talked to variety of reputable HVAC professionals on this topic and offer the following.