As much as I would like to say I am an expert, I am not when it comes to the actual performance and settings of a residential gas furnace and air conditioning unit.  So I am hoping some would be willing to share their incite or at least some resources I could go to.

So my question is about the fan speed settings for the heating and cooling system.  Two years ago I had a new Tempstar 95AFUE two stage variable speed furnace installed.  It is my understanding that even though it is a variable speed fan that you want to adjust fan speed differently for the heating and cooling system.  I ask because the service tech was at the house today on an A/C tune up & when my wife inquired about the fan speed, she was told it was on the factory settings.

So is this true, with variable speed motors you don't have to worry about the fan speed, or should there have been some kind of adjustments at time of the original install?  And for future service calls by potentially another company, what kind of testing should I ask for to be done to see if the CFM moving through the system are appropriate for the season.

Thanks in advance!

Josh

Views: 9065

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I was hoping someone else would pop in, but as I recall some models (if not all) have different factory defaults / wires / jumpers used for when the blower / fan turns on & how fast they run for heat & cool. I know the advice on changing fan speeds for older oversized units works good in most cases, but I am not sure I would try on a newer multi speed unit. But hey hopefully an HVAC guru pops up to either confirm, deny or hem & haw

BTW, can you get access to the installers manual - that should tell you if all your jumpers are in the right place

Ha, that would mean the company doing the replacement would do a manual J.  I don't know of any local HVAC contractors that do a manual J for replacements.  However I did have one done by a friend, so I will have to pull it out and look.